Greek Pasta Salad

I ran across this recipe by accident last week (courtesy of the family kitchen blog) , just in time for a gathering with friends last weekend. This was delicious! No cooking required, except the pasta.

We made a big batch, it was delicious! The olive oil, lemon juice, and oregano dressing was perfect.

Now, this recipe says it serves 6 – 10 people, with only one cup of uncooked pasta. That must mean as a side. This dish has so much going it could serve as a main course.

I upped the quantity quite a bit, we had a gathering of 6 families, and of course made a minor change or two. I will put in quantities where I know them, I eyeballed a few things (which if you know me, this is a miracle of sorts).

Ingredients

  • red onion, sliced thin (you decide how much you want)
  • 1/2 English cucumber, cut into chunks [I used 1½ cucumbers]
  • 3-4 Roma tomatoes, cut into chunks [I used grape tomatoes cut in half; almost a whole pack.]
  • 1 red, orange or yellow pepper, cored and cut into chunks [1 red, 1 yellow]
  • 1/2 cup Kalamata olives [eyeball, I used ½ Kalamata olives and ½ California black olives for this crowd]
  • 1/2 cup cubed or crumbled feta [eyeball this one]
  • 1 cup dry rotini or other chunky pasta shape [I cooked about 4 cups dry, almost a pound]
  • 1/2 cup Italian parsley, chopped (optional) [eyeball]
  • juice of 1-2 lemons [3 lemons]
  • extra virgin olive oil (EVOO), to taste
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano, crumbled or 1/2 tsp fresh oregano, minced [eyeball]
  • salt and pepper to taste

Cook the pasta according to package directions; drain well and rinse under cool water to stop it from cooking. [I tossed with some EVOO at this point, and then started cutting my vegetables and adding to the pasta, as I wasn’t sure exactly how much of each I needed.]

Combine the vegetables, olives, feta and pasta and toss well. Start dressing it with the juice of 1 fresh lemon, add a glug of olive oil, oregano and salt and pepper. Toss again, and taste to see if you need more lemon, oil or seasoning. Keep chilled until ready to serve, and toss again just before serving.

2 thoughts on “Greek Pasta Salad

  1. […] are eating this for dinner tonight, along with Greek Pasta Salad, Grilled Avocados, and fresh watermelon. […]

Leave a Reply

