Barbeque Chicken Salad

OK, it’s been a while since I’ve posted a recipe. We have had a busy summer! The kids are back in school now and life is starting to get back to normal.

Barbeque Chicken Salad – a great way to use up leftover BBQ Chicken.

We had friends over last weekend and one of the things we cooked was BBQ chicken. I tend to over-buy (I am always worried there won’t be enough for everyone!), so we have a refrigerator full of BBQ chicken. Last night I decided to make a barbeque chicken salad. I’ve had these before at restaurants, and this turned out very tasty.

Ingredients

  • BBQ Chicken (roughly chopped, or cut in strips)
  • Lettuce (Use what you like – I used a butter lettuce blend)
  • Carrots (roughly cut)
  • Red Pepper (chopped)
  • Green Onion (chopped)
  • Corn (See my note in the directions)
  • Tomatoes (chopped)
  • Avocado (cubed)
  • Ranch Dressing (Anyone have a homemade recipe to share? I used a packet of Hidden Valley seasoning for this salad)
  • Extra BBQ Sauce

Directions

Add lettuce to salad bowl. Top with veggies. (Feel free to use whatever veggies you have on hand or you enjoy, this list is what we chose to use.)

If using leftover chicken, re-heat. Mix extra barbeque sauce with the warm chicken pieces for a nice coating. Add to salad. Top with ranch dressing and mix everything together. Enjoy!

Note: We used fresh corn-on-the-cob, so I had to cook it first. In case you need directions: Boil a pot of water, add the shucked corn, sprinkle in a little salt to bring out the sweetness, and boil for 11 minutes (my dad says that is perfection). Let the corn cool a bit and then cut off the kernels for the salad. I think grilled corn-on-the-cob would also have been tasty.

Leave a Reply

